Rimmel Wake Me Up Foundation Review

Hi Guys!

It’s been a while since I reviewed anything beauty product related and since I bought a new foundation to try lately; I thought this would be the perfect opportunity! 🙂

I was running low on foundation and the one I’ve been using lately wasn’t really working for me; I have combination skin, and although it wasn’t making me so oily as some foundations do; It was definitely drying out my skin and showing off all the cracks and crust I guess! Even after giving my face a really good wash with a face scrub

image

I was going to get my normal Rimmel 25 hour foundation that works alright for me, but I saw that in Boots they had the Rimmel Wake Me Up reduced for a limited time for £5.99 from £8.99 which is cheaper than what I usually spend and my sister has used it previously alongside the wake me up concealer so I thought I can’t go wrong and especially for so cheap

Aesthetically it’s rather pleasing. Usually my foundation bottles have boring drab coloured lids but the Orange on this bottle and the square shape is different and I like it

image

image

The first thing I noticed was coverage is good from just a small amount. I don’t have the clearest of skin and it does take a whole cake layer to cover it. As you can see on my hand, you can hardly tell I have foundation on and the colour is true to my skin tone

Its very light too, some foundations feel heavy and especially the dream matte mousse I’ve been using would sit into my creases on my face, especially my eye lids from blinking or under my eyes and cheeks from laughing or just facial movement in general. Compared to my matte mousse foundation, it doesn’t dry out your skin through the day of wearing it or leave your skin flakey which is a good thing

It also does brighten the face rather well, very illuminating. It also has a shimmer to it, not sparkly and glittery to the point you can see it when you move your head, but I have noticed that when I touch my face I sometimes have glittery fingers which can be annoying, but again it’s just a slight shimmer and it’s not grainy or rough so don’t let that put you off

image

I’ve been using it for nearly a couple of weeks now and I really do like it and would purchase it again. I’ve been using it with my new egg sponge too and it transfers easily and blends well

It is slightly oily after a while- but not so oily that I look shiny or it runs off or feels gross, more of a dewy look but I feel with the egg sponge it’s not as bad as some reviews say. It also has SPF15 which is good for those sunnier days, which may also be the reason why it’s more dewy as sun creams are very wet and oily

It also has vitamin C which is great for the skin

image

There aren’t many shades, no. But luckily I found one perfect for me which is 100 Ivory- some people may be inbetween and might want to use a foundation that has a wider range of shades but you could always blend it with a concealer you may have or buy two shades and mix

Here is a quick before and after; I didn’t put loads on like I would if I were going out but it’s enough for light coverage (and prepare your eyes for the before photo!)

Before: Very red and spotty!

image

After: Less redness and more even skin tone

image

I would recommend this foundation to everyone and to especially try it now whilst it’s on offer and especially if they have your shade. I will also be testing out the matching Wake me up concealer as well to really brighten up my under eye area so I’ll let you know how that goes!

Happy Beauty! x

6 thoughts on “Rimmel Wake Me Up Foundation Review

Leave a comment